ARE YOU FEMALE, OVER 45 AND INVISIBLE?

Fiona Scott
7 min readSep 16, 2022
Do you feel that somewhere along the way you’ve become invisible?

I write this post about this subject because it’s something I come across a lot and two of my most popular posts on the social media site LinkedIn attracted 1000s of impressions and many comments when I talked about it.

As some of you will know I am a caravanner in the UK. My husband and I take breaks often and travel around the UK in our huge 8m long caravan. It’s our little home from home. We first got it ten years ago as holidays with lots of children were increasingly expensive, so once a year was getting more and more unaffordable with two hotel rooms, or bigger accommodation. A caravan, though not free, helped spread that cost and has allowed us to ‘go away’ more often.

One of the things I’ve noticed on caravan sites, is the number of quiet, unassuming older women. They often shuffle around, not talking or engaging with anyone. It’s less obvious with men.

I do get that to some extent. I’m actually quite anti-social when I’m away because I’m so extrovert when running my business. I do treat these breaks as my quiet time. And for a long time, I assumed others were doing the same. I don’t want to be going on caravan rallies, drinking with other caravan buddies, in and out of each other’s caravans. That’s my idea of hell.

--

--

Fiona Scott

Fiona has been a UK journalist for more than 30 years as well as being a freelance tv producer director. She’s also had her own media consultancy since 2008.