WHEN MY BULLY GOT IN TOUCH…

Fiona Scott
4 min readAug 5, 2022
What would you do if you were me?

I was bullied at school (Yr 7 in the UK) by two girls who took it upon themselves to make my life miserable.

These girls were meant to be my friends, they were older than me and my mum felt having two girls walk me to and from school would really help my transition to secondary school back in the late 1970s.

In those days in the UK, you had infants’ school, then junior school until you were 11 years old and then on to secondary school until 16 when you decided whether or not you wanted to get a job, or go into higher education.

Anyway, mum, doing her best for me, had no idea those girls would torment me, tease me, would make me feel stupid, vilify my friends and generally taunt and push me around.

I can’t remember how long this all lasted or what particular incident brought matters to a head. What I do know is that in the end I refused to go to school and it was that which prompted my mum to get to the bottom of my distress.

Once she found out what the problem was, there was hell to pay for my bullies. She took them both on and their…

--

--

Fiona Scott

Fiona has been a UK journalist for more than 30 years as well as being a freelance tv producer director. She’s also had her own media consultancy since 2008.